To the stranger beside me

f0fb1b2c906a1727b65fb64f4e856c14I am afraid, sometimes
to love you
that you won’t love me
to let you see my humanity
For all my strength my brave words
poignant phrases
deep thoughts
I am a mere mortal
and dread the loss of comfort
I retreat
when I ought to scale the cliff face
rust past
when my hand should reach to help
remain silent
when all you need is a loving voice
cast my eyes to the ground
when they should have met yours
Can you forgive me?
Maybe one day I will learn courage
Maybe one day I will take that step
Maybe today

Leave a Reply

